Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Jan 16, 2009, 2:40 PM   #1

I am a newbie when it come to digital photography, all I want is to get great pictures of my son but it seems no matter what I do I can't get a good sharp focus where the eyes look fantastic. Is it my light? My focus?? It just always comes out a little hazy... any constructive criticism would be greatly appreciated.

Edited to add link of bigger picture
http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l2...s/DSC_9981.jpg
Attached Images

tashanic2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 16, 2009, 4:06 PM   #2

It would help if you posted a photo as large as possible and as rules allow. This is mighty small to make out any details.

Bynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 4:13 PM   #3

Thanks, can I just use a link....

http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l2...s/DSC_9981.jpg
Old Jan 16, 2009, 4:59 PM   #4

The picture does look a bit soft. could you tell us what equipment and settings you are using? That will help to figure out how to improve things.

Mugmar
Mugmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 5:02 PM   #5

I see by your EXIF data you used Shutter Priority. The fstop was 4.5 and your ISO was 1600. Do you remember what you set your shutter speed to? Id suggest using aperture priority and trying to get a faster shutter speed.
Old Jan 16, 2009, 5:22 PM   #6

I agree with Mugmar that the focus of photo looks a bit soft, but it's hard to assess what has caused it. You can sharpen the eyes - e.g. with Photoshop - by drawing an elipse to enclose each eye & then applying Unsharp Mask to each elipse. I did that, using Photoshop Elements 2 -

Attached Images

Herb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 5:47 PM   #7