Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Apr 22, 2009, 12:41 AM   #1

I've been playing around with HDR a bit recently. It seems to me that (at least using Photomatix) you can do either fantasy or realistic, and that both have their uses and charms. I'm still a beginner when it comes to settings, and would be interested in what others think of this fantasy attempt. There are things I like about it and things I don't - and I'm not sure how to improve this one. Suggestions on settings to use, or suggestions with other programs on how to improve it would be greatly appreciated. My aim here was not to be realistic (i.e., like a photograph).

mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 22, 2009, 2:19 AM   #2

Observing the evening sky, the foliage, the streetlights, the architectural details far and near...my humble opinion is that; you've attained agreat looking result even in your first attempt!Such a sight could not be captured in a single shot. Looks quite realistic as well though it wasn't your main goal...

Cheers!

Bahadır
bahadir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2009, 7:22 AM   #3

I quite agree with Bahadir. Nice shot all round. But your settings do seem a bit off. For instance, the street light in the foreground shouldnt be as bright as that. You should almost be able to see the light casing with a sharper edge. That said, its a very realistic shot and one you couldnt get with just a single exposure. You sky looks so real. Nice one for your first try.
Bynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2009, 8:43 AM   #4

mtngal

Your experimenting with HDR has been successful, imo. I respectfully disagree with Bynx, in re the glow around the lights, I feel it adds to, as you have stated, "fantasy" shot.

I must look into this Photomatix

SternSteve121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2009, 11:00 AM   #5