Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Sep 13, 2009, 12:45 PM   #1

Default HDR First Humble Attempt

I'm fairly new to DSLR photography, very much on the upward side of the learning curve. The HDR process appeals to me very much, so after playing with the software demo for a few days, and figuring out AEB on my camera, I'm posting my first humble attempt.
Hand held, Canon T1i, 1/640, 1/160, 1/40, 800 ISO, F7.1

Cheers
Scottie
Attached Images

Scottie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 13, 2009, 6:59 PM   #2

Good first try Scotty. Im sure as you improve your technique you will love the results. Im puzzled by the center of the pic at the horizon, why does it have such a soft edge? Id like to see your mid shot to compare to the final.
Bynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2009, 8:26 PM   #3

Thanks Bynx, I think it's simply out of focus. Here's the midrange shot.
Attached Images

Old Sep 13, 2009, 10:35 PM   #4

I dont see much difference between your mid range shot and your final. Perhaps this wasnt such a good candidate for HDR because I dont see much of the effect. It is an interesting photo with its geometric shapes. I dont have a dslr so my camera doesnt shoot RAW. Is that the kind of files you made your HDR from? Each RAW files contains all the info to create an HDR while Jpegs are limited to what you see.

Last edited by Bynx; Sep 13, 2009 at 10:45 PM.
Old Sep 14, 2009, 1:12 PM   #5

I see what you mean Bynx, there really isn't much difference. I haven't been shooting in RAW format, maybe I'll give that a go and try again. Thanks for checking it out.

Cheers
Old Sep 14, 2009, 1:39 PM   #6