Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Dec 30, 2009, 4:04 PM   #1

Default T1i lackluster results

I got a Canon T1i a few days ago and have been impressed with the speed in which it takes shots, but most of the shots seem to be blurry or have some sort of motion blur. I mostly notice this in full automatic or Green box mode and P mode. Im M(manual) mode i can speed up the shutter speed enogh to prevent thing, but then the pictures come out dark. Im still learning the aspects of using a DSLR, but seem to have a decent idea.

Here is a few shots of pictures I have taken which I consider to be good

But then the majority are like this

I came from a 5.1MP sony p&S and guess I expected the shots to be at least as clear as the sonys, but 99% of the pics I take are blury even when on a tripod.
HeavyBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 30, 2009, 4:26 PM   #2

It looks like the program is chosen a widiest f-stop with the kit lens. If you go to the Av you can change it to have a step down the f-stop and the camera will chose the proper shutter speed. That will lessen the bokem or eliminate it altogether. Would you know what f stop these fotos were taken. Try setting the f stop to 5.6, 6.3 or 7.1 the photos should get rid of the blur.
shoturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2009, 4:40 PM   #3

I am also trying to relearn SLR, but looking at the three "bad" pictures you posted, here's my guess...

#1) woods-- lot of detail, I wonder where the focus spot is.
#2) cat-- I'm guessing the cat moved between the time the focus was set and when the picture was snapped.
#3) lights- extremely dark. AF seems to have more problems in the dark.