Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Feb 4, 2010, 2:09 PM   #1

Default White balance woes

I'm new at indoor sports photography, and am having a lot of trouble getting my hockey pictures to come out with a decent white balance, leading to heavy post production (I HATE doing heavy post). Here's an original and the same image after post, what can I do to improve?

Original:

After post production:
Thewrittengeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 4, 2010, 2:31 PM   #2

Looking at how you master p&p, it's like you don't even need a camera.
Ordo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2010, 2:47 PM   #3

Haha, thanks Ordo, but I'd rather not have to process so much, I feel like I loose too much detail.
Thewrittengeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2010, 3:25 PM   #4

Sure. Try posting in the Sports forum. There're some "capo cameras" there.
Ordo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2010, 8:42 PM   #5

Doesnt your camera have a White Balance setting? In your original it looks like you have it set for sunlight but were using incandescent lighting.
Bynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2010, 9:40 PM   #6
Super Moderator

well not only is the white balance off, but the shot is underexposed too, dial up some +EV. then you can meter a custom white balance off a grey card, or even like a coffee filter or something.
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2010, 8:40 PM   #7

Lighting on the ice is going to be different than in the stands. You really should have access to the ice before the game in order to set your custom WB. Once done, you should be able to use it any time.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2010, 9:29 PM   #8

I am not trying to hi-jack this thread. But it might turn into that.