Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Mar 19, 2010, 10:31 AM   #1

Default My first photo critique

I've recently taken an interest to photography and just started using a new camera that my dad brought me. Please let me know what you think of this shot and what I could've done to make it better.
To take it, I stood under a tree and put my head up and took the shot.

Areej is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 19, 2010, 10:45 AM   #2

I personally really like it.
I like the rays and the different colors they made [purple, green and red].
How could you have made it better?
hmm...
Maybe if the tree was higher or covered more of the sky?
Or if you somehow had the number of branches more balanced instead of having most of them on the bottom?
I don't really know, I'm not a professional photographer.
You did a great job, keep practicing.
kimo11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2010, 11:19 AM   #3

This is an interesting idea. Notice that you have "blown" both the highlights and the shadows. Not to much you can do about that, but I find that what detail I see in the shadows to be distracting. It's "noisy, it doesn't show enough to show the actual leaves.

In my opinion the way to improve this shot is to decrease the overall brightness of the scene, until you are left with something approaching a sillouette. Doesn't have to be all extreme dark and light - But push the post processing until most of the detailess leaves are dark. This also has the side effect of making the sky more dramatic

Something like this:

This probelm with highlights and shadows can be exploited to make an interesting picture. You might also try the same scene, but doing so when the sun isn't directly or almost directly shining right into your lens.

Dave
Chato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2010, 12:41 PM   #4
Super Moderator