Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Jun 29, 2010, 2:43 AM   #1

Default Waiting

Hello everyone. Well Im fairly new to photography and have been taking different pics of subjects that interest me. As I was driving I saw this man just sitting and waiting for someone to pour some change into his cup. The way he was sitting and his expression caught me so I pulled over and took the pic. Let me know your opinoins? How can I improve the shot or what could I have different? I cropped the photo in photoshop and turned it into black and white.

Camera Nikon D5000
Lense 70-300mm
Shutter - 1/30
Arpeture - F22
ISO- Lo 0.3
165mm
Metering- Spot
No flash
Thanks.
Holguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 29, 2010, 8:49 AM   #2

I am a fan of street photography. Your shot is overexposed (note the blown out bag) and out of focus. I adjusted the exposure and contrast, and used Focus Magic to sharpen up the image. I could really play with a shot like this and make it radically dramatic.
Attached Images

pboerger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2010, 9:22 AM   #3
Super Moderator

I like people shots of 'life' going on. I think that one of the biggest ways to help this would have been to open the aperture right up rather than have it closed down to f22. This would have taken most of the distracting background out of play. Also you say you cropped, did you crop much? If so then framing tighter will help with subject isolation as you are using a longer lens, so the aperture combined with the longer focal length would take the store in the background more out of play and draw the attention to your subject.

I'm not sure if it is out of focus, if it is camera shake or just in the re size from post production (PP), although I guess camera shake with 1/30s on that focal length.

It might be worth leaving some space around the sign on the extending arm.
Old Jun 29, 2010, 10:42 AM   #4