Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Nov 26, 2010, 12:50 PM   #1

Default New To Photography.

Hi folks,I'm fromScotland and new to photography and this site.. and I must say what a great site it is too.....My background is in music production so I know all about the learning curve but truth be told, I really don't know a good pic from a bad one so I am eager for advice and criticism...Hre's a pic I like to look at BUT is it any good?
Please help me to learn..and thanks for taking the time..

PS...I used a Canon 550d with a Tamron Wide Lens and the pis is straight out of the camera..
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kicky777/5207984957/
Kicky777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 26, 2010, 5:16 PM   #2

for me, i dont want too much symmetry in my photos. The tree is right in the center of the frame. There is a lot of empty space on the left and right with not much going on.
Thanks being said, it is technically shot as a nice silhouette.

photos are subjective. All of them. Some appeal to more of the masses then others, but it honestly is a matter of taste. What is important at this stage of your photography, is that YOU like it.
Old Nov 26, 2010, 6:41 PM   #3
Super Moderator

Welcome to Steve's. How is the snow up there, here (in Devon) we are meant to get some this weekend!!

A good starting shot. I agree about the centred shot, but it's not always an issue. For me one of the most distracting elements is the black foreground. I would personally lose the left side and also the bottom to make it a more pleasing crop.

Looking forward to seeing some more from you.

Mark

Have fun everyone!

See what I'm up to visit my Plymouth Wedding Photography
site or go to my blog.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2010, 9:24 AM   #4