Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Mar 21, 2011, 11:38 PM   #1

Default Travel pics

This was taken during my recent trip to India. I am new to photography and to this forum, lots to learn. Any comments welcomed.

Thanks.
Attached Images

Last edited by jackiehktong; Mar 22, 2011 at 6:38 AM.
jackiehktong is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 23, 2011, 4:08 AM   #2

Hi Jackiehktong

This is quite a good portrait for a 'new to photography' attempt. Well done.

Taking such photos can be tricky. The boy is a handsome subject.

A few initial thoughts. A bit of a shame that part of his face is in (sun) light, as it leaves his nose too 'bright'.

Also, the focus is not quite spot on (but close). For a depth of field like that (it appears you used a setting that had a thin depth of field) - you must get the eyes perfectly in focus (the pupil) - whereas I think the focal plane is just in front.

Finally, there are a few bright colours in the background -which distract a bit. Perhaps try having the subject with a plainer background.

However having said that - it doesn't mean this is a bad photo. Not at all. It's quite good. The above are just some pointers for possible improvements in the future.

Keep shooting and sharing.

regards

Paul
pj1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2011, 7:06 AM   #3

Thank you. I didn't notice that the nose is too bright, I made the picture brighter too, the origin shot is not as bright.

I was volunteering in a village school and this was taken in a very busy classroom while we were giving them a lecture. The boy himself was very shy, out of nowhere he shot up and looked at me, I only had like a second for this, next time I will stalk him a bit more .

Thx. Jackie
Old Mar 23, 2011, 7:51 AM   #4

jackie -