Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old May 25, 2011, 5:04 PM   #1

Default Take five

I took this the other day and showed it to a professional photographer in my home town. He said it was poor work and very amature in composition. I posted it on another site and they thought it was pretty good. So what is up? can I have done this differently? Is it poorly composed? What is wrong?

Old May 25, 2011, 5:22 PM   #2

I would have to side with the "professional photographer" on this one (fyi.. I'm an amateur hobbyist).

The first thing i noticed was the lack of focus. I can't seem to find any part of the photo that is sharp, but i think the sharpest part is somewhere near the bridge of the cello (or is that a bass?).

The second thing i noticed was the composition: The scroll was cut off the bottom left side of the frame. The angle of the instrument is awkward and not natural to my eye. Also, its super dusty, which really detracts from such a beautiful instrument.

Third, the background: The bass drum and horn in the background make the entire photo seem more busy and cluttered. Always keep in mind what is behind your subject matter. A bad background can ruin a nice photo (google photobomb).

Lastly, the color temperature seems a bit off. Too warm for my tastes, but that could just be the stage lighting.

I'm sorry that I dont have better news for you, but that is how i see this photo.
Old May 25, 2011, 7:20 PM   #3

OK thanks,
Old May 26, 2011, 2:10 AM   #4

I'm certainly no pro, so this is all IMHO.

I like the atypical view point of the cello (or is that a bass?). This view gives a nice reflection of the bridge, a perspective on the instrument's hourglass shape that isn't often seen and a strong diagonal line. But the rest of the composition doesn't work for me.

The diagonal leads the eye right out the image.