Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Aug 17, 2011, 9:01 AM   #1

Default An Artist at Work!

Hey All,

This is my first image for critique in this forum. Hope to get constructive feedback from you all.

This is an image I took just a few days before the independence day of my country, Pakistan, and caught this guy making a tomb on a nearby beach of one of the pioneers of our independence movement.

This is also one of the very few images I have edited in B&W and I'm still learning about the medium. Any help in how to enhance certain areas of the picture would be appreciated.

Zee

Attachment 180478
Attached Images

Zeshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 17, 2011, 9:24 AM   #2

This may seem like a stupid comment (it wouldn't be my first!), but I would prefer the composition if the man were turned around. If he were facing toward the sand sculpture, there would be a greater unity to my mind. FWIW
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 9:36 AM   #3

In a word: Flat
B&W almost always calls for contrast, IMO.
Also I think this would work better cropped to a square. There is too much wasted space.
tjsnaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 10:19 AM   #4

@tjsnaps

Did what you said. Also enhanced the contrast a bit.

Name:  DSC_1685cropped.jpg
Views: 170
Size:  205.4 KB

@tclune

I think that composition would look nice.
Old Aug 17, 2011, 10:38 AM   #5

To my eye, the cropped version is too claustrophobic. I prefer the original composition, but I suppose it depends on what you are trying to convey. One man's "wasted space" is another man's "context." (But, if you revert to the original composition, be sure to straighten the horizon.)
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 10:46 AM   #6

I actually like both. I think the cropped version puts more focus on the subject. I'll straighten the horizon in the uncropped version like you suggested.