Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Jul 10, 2012, 1:58 PM   #1

Default first senior portrait

Hello, this is my first time on this thread. I shot my first senior portraits and need some suggestions on crops. She is a cute girl... I'm having trouble w/ the short sleeves (wide arm) and a larger bust size and long hair. She brought her trumpet along for a prop. The impression she gave me is this is what she wanted to use as her yearbook photo. I have a few samples I would love to share...I'll post one here as the rules state, then maybe I can post the others somewhere else on this thread? Thanks for any suggestions and or critiques. No adjustments have been made.
Attached Images

Wink11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 10, 2012, 2:00 PM   #2

oh, I'm looking for 8x10 crops
Old Jul 10, 2012, 4:08 PM   #3

The only thing that bothers me is the black background -- it gives the gestalt of her as a wallflower, at least to me. A backdrop that had higher contrast to her hair and dress would allow her to stand out instead of "sink in," if that communicates.
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2012, 4:27 PM   #4

Yes, that does communicate. Thank you soo much. I've used this black once before on a child portrait and find it my safe zone, I can clean it nice w/ burning the shadows. This girl is someone that goes to my church and is a bit shy and classic. I really need to learn how to light white.

This pic is sooc.
Old Jul 10, 2012, 4:29 PM   #5

Default Head room vs. trumpet bell

This is a question, not a suggestion.

As a trumpet player myself, I'd be she's holding a Bach 180s37 Bb trumpet. That's a nice horn (I happen to have one myself). I can't tell if that's a Monette mouthpiece or Bach's version of a gold Monette.

This photo cuts off the bell of the trumpet, but has significant headroom. I know the 2/3's rule, but I wonder if getting the whole trumpet in the photo would make a difference?