Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Jul 27, 2013, 6:31 AM   #1

Default What am I doing wrong ?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/9374345077/

Good morning ...

Guys I just started shooting with my first DSLR and this pic is one of my first ,
The camera I'm shooting with is a canon T3I , the lens was the kit lens
EF-S 18-55 , my iso was 320 shot at 46mm , F32 at 1/100 sec .

I'm noticing a lot of noise and I'm not 100% certain why ..

Thanks for any and all help ....
James G is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 27, 2013, 8:41 AM   #2

It doesn't look like high-iso noise . . . the picture is taken at iso320, which isn't bad. For something like this, if there was some light, I would have tried iso200 to reduce noise. But this doesn't look like iso noise.

I see this has gone through Adobe Photoshop Lightroom.

Is it possible to post the original picture or at least one that hasn't been processed by Lightroom?

What did the picture look like in camera before Lightroom processed it?
tacticdesigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2013, 9:42 AM   #3

Just a guess, but it seems that perhaps you are getting some diffraction effects by shooting at f/32, and trying to recover the detail lost with lightroom, which is recovering the noise as well.
I wold suggest re-shooting at f/8 or wider aperture, and see if you get better detail without the noise.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2013, 5:19 PM   #4

I'm guessing you were shooting in aperture priority,though why did you use f/32..?? That is a tiny aperture- and in daylight even a modest shutter speed of 100th sec needed an increase in iso (which I'm guessing in in Auto iso)- though iso 320 should not introduce the level of noise seen in your image.
The image is also a tad underexposed which can increase noise if you try to correct exposure with an editor- though again,the level of noise shown in your image is extreme..!!