Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Oct 4, 2015, 9:45 PM   #1

Default My Daughter

I have been practicing ALOT over the past several weeks on portraits, and learning how to edit with Photoshop CS3.
Taken with a 50mm prime F1.8 lens on a Canon Rebel T5 1200D.
I made a few small adjustments in curves, and smoothed her skin in a layer mask.
(I think I'm saying all of this right.)
Attached Images

stefaniriggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 5, 2015, 11:15 AM   #2

I think your off to a good start. It takes a long time and hundreds if not thousands of shots to master portrait photography. I've been at it for the last 10 years and I'm still learning.

With that being said here are some things I'll suggest.

Use that lens at 1.8. If you didn't. Try using the largest aperture available for single person portraits if your not going to use a flash. The 1.8 aperture will blur out the background and lessen the distractions such as the railing on the second shot. I always use the selective focus and choose the point closest to the eye. That way you don't have to move the camera too far to recompose your shot. Focus on the eye closest to you. The eyes are the most important to have in focus.

Composition is good on 1 and 3. Number 2 could be cropped a little tighter. Or better yet composed tighter. Always better to get things right out of the camera. Also the closest you can get to your subject (daughter) while keeping your composition, the better you can blur out the background.

They all 3 could be a little more bright and vibrant.

We'll leave it at that for this series. Your lucky to have a kid to practice on. Use her as often as possible. She's an attractive young lady.

I like the composition in number 1 the best but technically I would say number 3 came out the best.

Mike
lomitamike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2015, 12:23 PM   #3

I'd agree with all that.