Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old May 26, 2005, 1:47 PM   #1

IMAGE REMOVED..sorry.

I just wanted to post this for Plain Jane to show her that we've all been there, done that...I shot this during the sunny part of the day. If I would have waited until the light was more diffused (sunrise, sunset or cloudy), it would have turned out much better. If not better, I then would have under exposed by at least 1/3 fstop. Yellow flowers seem to attract the highlight blowout gremlins! Believe me, I had this image dissed for the blowout when it got critiqued as you lose detail when there's blowout. I have been using a DSLR for 2 months longer than you have and I find that the only way I'm succeeding atgettingbetter at improving my images was and is to hear exactly where I was making my mistakes. That's how we learn...I'm sure a lot of people will agree...

I really do think you have great potential as a photographer. I've seen other images you've posted that were really quite wonderful! So, don't put that camera away...just keep goin'! The more you learn, the better you will get...I'm sure you've seen that you're getting better since you started 2 months ago.

Since this image of mine was dissed, I remember all the fine knowledge I learned and I now apply it. ( I will post another with diffused lighting ).

Now.....KEEP SHOOTING!!!! :|

StitchBabe

StitchBabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 26, 2005, 11:34 PM   #2

Thanks... I'm just frustrated at the moment. I took this one today with my son. He graduated 4th grade and we went into the school's butterfly garden. It's not that good either. I'm having a streak of bad luck.

But I guessit's not too terrible.

Let me ask something about light. Is there a difference when you live right next to the coastline? I wasn't using a UV filter for quite some time and I just got one. Anda polarizer. This sould help all the glare I get around leaves and water, right?