Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Jun 8, 2005, 10:49 PM   #1

Took this shot of a Mute Swan with a young cygnet coming to investigate the intruder (me). Comments appreciated.
Attached Images

labirder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 9, 2005, 9:43 AM   #2

labirder, great subject. Just a couple of comments for your consideration:

Picture is a little too large for me to see the whole scene on my screen.

Background too dark, needs some contrast. A little fill flash with photoshop will help.

I've taken the liberty of making those changes:

Attached Images

GeorgeNC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2005, 6:54 PM   #3

GeorgeNC,

Thanks for the comments and editing the background really does make a difference. Something else I'm still learning how to do. I tried to get the picture uploaded in a smaller size but couldn't figure out how.

Thanks again.
Old Jun 9, 2005, 7:45 PM   #4

GeorgeNC and all,

I have a smaller photo of the swan and cynget on my website that may make for better veiwing at: http://home.earthlink.net/~labirder/id8.html

Just scoll down the page a little.

Thanks again.
Old Jun 9, 2005, 9:42 PM   #5

The picture is pretty grainy. What ISO did you use?
Great subject.
Attached Images

r00022 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2005, 8:30 AM   #6

Composition isn't bad, but there is a lot of noise in the pic. I'm not sure what is causing the noise as the lighting seems to be adequate...make sure your always shooting with the highest resolution that your camera provides, and maybe turn off in camera sharpening...that can always be done with more control in post. In addition the subject on the right shows little feather detail as the highlights are blown. Spot metering on the white subject and reducing exposure by a stop or two would have helped avoid this.

Thanks for sharing.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2005, 11:49 AM   #7
Super Moderator