Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Jun 20, 2005, 7:55 AM   #1

well...... took enough shots over about 30mins but only one really worked (and i mean worked in the looses sence). Need to work out better ways.... any thoughts.

Fuji S5000 pre focused with flash

Simon
Attached Images

simonbratt99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 20, 2005, 8:59 AM   #2

What was your shutter speed?

It looks like you lost a lot of detail because of movement. Moving objects are really tough to begin with - when you combine it with low light, they're a nightmare.

I'm not an expert but I suspect you may need faster shutter speed. Since you're using a flash, as long as you are within its functional range, it should illuminate enough for a good shot.

And remember, don't worry about annoying the bat - they're blind.
DanielT2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2005, 9:33 PM   #3

Nice to see your shot here. I looked at it with special interest since I am trying for the same shot, only with magpies. The pre focus is a good place to start, but I had some luck with shooting multiple shots (7 per sec or so) but I wasn't happy with the short pixel count. It gave me a place to start tho. I must work with a camera that can't deliver as well as a DSLR and my solution is clearly just to tweak until I get it. The bat of course is a special kind of shot. I hope you'll post some more and show us how you finally get the shot. Good luck, best regards,

KennethD
KENNETHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2005, 11:20 PM   #4