Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Aug 29, 2005, 12:31 AM   #1

Ok folks,

I'm pretty much a complete newbie at photography. I've been practicing for a little over a month, and am now confident enough to set up most of my shots manually. We took a trip to SeaWorld Orlando yesterday, and this was probably my favorite shot. I'm interested in getting some feedback as to what I did wrong, right, how I can improve, etc. I really want to learn, and what better way than taking pointers from people who know a lot more than I do!
Attached Images

The F Bomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 31, 2005, 8:08 PM   #2

I am unable to offer a critique here for you since I find this shot to be spectacular.
vIZnquest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2005, 8:21 PM   #3
Super Moderator

i missed this one somehow.. but it is a great action shot.. its sharp, the colors look great and you had plenty of shutter speed..

i am going to nitpick for the sake of it.. but i wish the diver was either up or down a little bit, since that pole behind him is the same color as his shirt.. once again, only a nitpick..
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2005, 10:35 AM   #4

this is a great shot. maybe some saturation boost will help it out. i hope you don't mind but i messed around w/ it a little bit. might be too much, but i boosted the colors a little...it brought the woodgrain color out of the background and i selected the guy and did a levels adjustment on him to bring him out from the background and lighten him up a little.

i have deleted the file from my computer. hope you didn't mind.

-jon rowe
Attached Images

jedmag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2005, 11:19 AM   #5
Super Moderator

yea.. thats just a bit much, esp in the red channel..
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2005, 5:49 PM   #6

thanks
jedmag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2005, 10:57 AM   #7

i love shamu.