Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Nov 13, 2005, 1:42 AM   #1
Super Moderator

This is a great reminder of a great day at Kew this summer.

I have an A4 print which looks great, but the detail and colour actually seem to demand and even bigger print.

Without a pano stitch there was no possible way to capture the whole scene, and the light was very changeable too.

So this is obviously a crop of a much larger real-world panorama, but the question is does the crop work successfully? What do you think of the composition?

It has appeal to the family, but I wonder whether it's the kind of shot you might hang on a wall?

Attached Images

peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 13, 2005, 2:05 AM   #2

I'm not an expert, so I could be wrong. But for me it looks like too much of everything. When I first looked at the picture, my eyes didn't know where to stop. Very good colors and sharpness thogh.
AK-66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2005, 10:08 AM   #3

this version definitely leaves me wanting to see more. i'd love to see the stitched pano. as a stand alone image i don't think this works...it is a bit busy and lacks¬* a focal point.¬* it feels a bit truncated. the colors and detail are great though, there is potential there.
julies517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2005, 12:09 PM   #4

Yes I think its cropped in to tight for such a busy shot to begin with. Normally you would crop in to focus attention to a certain subject but there is no real apparent subject. I think seeing the whole boat and the complete arc of the water fountain would have worked out better.
Widowmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2005, 1:02 PM   #5

Peri, Like the reflected colours & the duck but also think it's a bit of a tight crop.

I'm guessing from the title of this post you have roots north of the Limpopo - haven't heard that term for many moons.
SteveDak is offline   Reply With Quote