Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Nov 13, 2005, 7:51 AM   #1

due to the high noise of the z3 this one look too overprocessed...
Attached Images

mad_grll is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 13, 2005, 8:02 AM   #2

I'm not very experienced with portraits, but I'll give my opinion Maybe those with more experience can correct me if I'm wrong. Personally, I'd like to see this more from above, though still not looking directly down on the subject. If you took a step to the right so that you have one leg each side of the subject, and then shoot from the left like you did, the result would be better... not a great explanation, but the best I can do!

I think that the framing at the moment is somewhat disjointed, and that the subject is kind of 'out of the way' at the bottom of the photo, and there's a lot of background leaves at the top.

Also, I think a slightly more full-face framing would increase the 'interaction' of the subject with those looking at the photograph, because both eyes would be visible.

I like the post processing you've done on it; I think it works well with the leaves and black jumper/coat to give a truly wintry feel to the portrait.

Again, I'm no expert on portraits, but that's how the photo 'feels' to me.

Best,

-Ben
oBSidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2005, 8:11 AM   #3

I can't quite pinpoint why but the subject is coming off as pasted in. The clothing is also completely black so you have no shape there. I do like the idea though.
Widowmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2005, 1:22 PM   #4
Super Moderator

i really like the feel of this shot.. and i love her expression, it works perfectly within this shot to give it the mood you were after..

a couple things would help though..

- a different colored jacket, you lose too much detail in the black and it does not flow well with the rest of the shot..

-sharpen the eyes and lips..

otherwise, i like this shot!!