Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Nov 20, 2005, 7:34 PM   #1

I was on the beach last night and snapped a few shots playing with the shutter, iso, and apperture settings. This is one of the results. Changed from 3200x2400 jpeg to 1024x768 and cropped. Hope you like it. I think it is a fairly good shot.

astinus01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 20, 2005, 8:06 PM   #2

Generally with a beach shot I prefer to see some of the water in there with it. This shot has very little going on and so it really needs to have something extraordinary about it to compensate for that. Maybe if there were more lights on in the buildings or a clear nite with the moon or star showing.
Widowmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2005, 8:28 PM   #3

I'm still new to photography and learning how to set up a shot and what makes a good shot, so bear with me. They will get better and more intereting over time. Here is another i took over looking the water as a tug was pulling a barge through the gulf.

Old Nov 20, 2005, 8:55 PM   #4

You know... I think you might have a good eye... But you failed to get the capture in the first image. I see what you wanted but it's not what you got. The horizon is tilted color is muted and it's soft. You cant take long exposures hand held. At least I can't. So if you don't have a tripod you'll have to set the camera or your arms and hands on very firm setting like a fence or building.

On the second picture all that and the rule of thirds. That is where you try to avoid putting the main subject in the middle of the frame. It a rule not a law but it would help if the ship and horizon were out of the middle.

Try again.

dale
thatsanicepicture2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2005, 9:01 PM   #5

astinus01 wrote:
Quote:
Changed from 3200x2400 jpeg to 1024x768 and cropped.