Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Jan 10, 2006, 5:51 PM   #1

i spent a long time on this one ,my mate pictured with his brooklyn was in fact standing in front of a very boring and bland building the pose was perfect i felt it deserved a more fitting backdrop this is my first attempt at merging 2 different pics. id like to make the pic seem as one what can i do to improve this technique i use photoshop elements any help most welcome cheers for looking
Attached Images

godfather is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 10, 2006, 6:14 PM   #2

for a first time layering, not bad at all, especially with elements.

i personally would have worked on the background layer before the edit (the sky is very

washed out and the colors are, well, kinda blah compared to your mates outfit.)

first of all, upgrade to ps cs or ps cs2, if you can. elements is a stripped down version of

the real thing.

second, don't limit yourself to ps. there are a few different edit/browser software that

are fairly decent (picasa2, it's free) some have trial versions.

third, keep on shooting!

scot

hope you don't mind if i played with it a bit to make the layers blen better.

Attached Images

E.S. Crawford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2006, 6:30 PM   #3

thanks for your comments es crawford im more of an illustrator cs man and im fairly new to photoshop ill try different software packages and play around with them spose its all about experimentation once again cheers for your valued comments
Old Jan 10, 2006, 6:48 PM   #4

The prospective is not right. Looks odd like he's standing in a hole or the bike is
floating. The two images just don't match. The background picture is lacking
contrast.

However the the edit itself looks pretty good. So if you saved your cut out maybe try it again on a different picture.

Good job for a first attempt.

dale