Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Jan 26, 2006, 7:19 PM   #1

This is my first attempt at a portrait. I don't have any sort of professional lighting, so that's already something I know is wrong with this photo - any ideas on how to PS this better would be appreciated - shadows highlights didn't work so well for this one (b/c the sepia).

My other hunch is that the background is too busy and should be more out of focus and further away (tried a layer mask and lens blur in PS CS2, but it looked too artificial b/c the wall was so close behind).

What about the composition / DOF? Sepia effect? Added vignetteing?

Thanks in advance!

-Ben

Attached Images

oBSidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 26, 2006, 8:18 PM   #2

I don't think your lighting is too bad...maybe just a tad hot. The shadow on the right is a bit bothersome as it is on the edge of the scene and causes the image to be slightly out of balance. You could probably crop some of this out and not hurt the scene too bad as it would also get the subject out of dead center. I would also clone out the small catchlight on the nose.

In terms of pose, the pose you have chosen kind of emphasizes the nose a bit...I'd raise her chin and/or turn her slightly more towards the lens to de-emphasize the nose. I also think it would be better if her eyes were open.

Your comment about the background is on spot...it is too busy.

I also notice in the EXIF that you shot this at f/8 and 800 ISO. I'd at least open up the lens a bit...f/8 is typically a sharp aperature for most lenses...shooting at a larger aperature would soften (typically) things a bit and allow you to reduce the light a bit, which I think would give you a more pleasing effect.