Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Feb 5, 2006, 12:04 AM   #1

I am still learning to shot still life in this mode. I like the background and that the clear white and moroon red blends in well.

Shooting Mode: Manual Exposure
Shutter Speed: 30
Aperture Value: 5.0
Metering Mode: Evaluative Metering
ISO Speed: 200
Lens: 105.0 mm
Focal Length: 105.0 mm
Image Quality: RAW
Flash: On, External E-TTL
PP: yes.
Your comments are most appreciated.
Attached Images

Aumma45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 5, 2006, 12:06 AM   #2

This picture is the same as the original above except that I have added a deliberate artistic flair - oil paint look. Regards. Jaki.
Attached Images

Old Feb 5, 2006, 12:32 AM   #3

great concept, and i love the clear and crimson. one suggestion might be to shoot this with only one fruit on the table. as it is, it's just a little too symmetrical... i think the overall effect would be better with a less "balanced" look to it. lose the fruit on the left, it looks a little darker and less appealing than the one on the right...
squirl033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 12:55 AM   #4

i agree about the composition, it seems "too tidy" in a way. too symetrical and the center fruit/glass is well...too centered. the exposure seems good and i love the color combination going on here. the color, texture and shape of the fruit work nicely with the glass. the fruit in the glass seems soft, which i think is just distortion of being in the glass not a focus issue... this may bother me because it is centered though. i like the oil paint effect too, it adds a pleasing touch to the image. it is nice to see you experimenting with many different types of shots and situations- keep it up .....thanks for sharing jaki!
julies517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2006, 6:13 AM   #5