Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Apr 13, 2006, 2:25 PM   #1

I am a pure Digital Photographer but had to purchase a film camera for a photography class I am taking. Here is the first shot I took with new Camera.

Canon Elan 7NE
minutephotos.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 13, 2006, 2:35 PM   #2

There is something not right with this. Maybe the scanner is not working properly.

The contrast is gone? The film speed is maybe wrong, but I think its the scan.

Did it come out like this when developed? Ie does the photograph look like this in your hand?

Anyway you can fix it, if you want to.

You see the composition is let down anyway. You have framed really nicely but absolutely no use having the eyes shut in a straight up and down portrait like this.

Try to take another if able.

LB

LBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2006, 4:47 PM   #3

This does look very flat now that you mention it. When I shot this photo I couldn't findany plus-x or tri-x and ended up usingc-41 process bw film. I sent the roll to Walgreens to get it develoded and scanned. The print has much richer blacks and more contrast. She was praying and I just happened to catch this spare of the moment shot.

Thanks for your critique
Old Apr 13, 2006, 4:56 PM   #4

When I first saw this I thought, "What a powerful image!". It evokes a certain empathy for the subject, imagined or real. The closed eyes makes the shot in my opinion. The dark tones do seem in need of some slight adjustment, but this is easily done. I like it. A great canid capture that says so much.

Regards,

Syd
In search of Syd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 14, 2006, 5:54 PM   #5

subject is great. great expression.

i too feel the image is very flat. dropped the image into photoshop and missing alot of highlight and lo light detail

i think its a great shot

ken