Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Apr 22, 2006, 10:47 AM   #1

Greetings to all around. I'm a complete novice with a new toy (the most irritating kind to the pro's, I know!) and need some help/advice/suggestions with the pics below...

The forum is "Critiques and Techniques", so please do both...

I'm particulary interested in trying to improveon my composition, but also if someone could tell me how to reduce the "washed out - too much light" look that these shots have, I'd be very happy...

Thanks in advance.
Godzillza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 22, 2006, 10:48 AM   #2

Mauritius #1: Canon 350D, 1/500, f13.0, ISO400, 55mm

Attached Images

Old Apr 22, 2006, 12:53 PM   #3

Welcome Gozillza,

Others will want to help as well I'm sure, so I'll start the ball rolling so to speak. First observation is that you need to take care to keep your horizons level. You can rotate this in most image browsers. If you do not have a image enhancement program you might like to download the FastStone Free Image Viewer from http://www.faststone.com. It is freeware and really lets you do a lot with your images - good starting point. There is other freeware available that others might like to suggest.

The first shot with the thatched beach umbrella I would rotate to get the polevertical, in a similar vein.

Steve
SteveDak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2006, 3:02 PM   #4

Thanks for the reply Steve, appreciate the feedback(and nice to see a local around too!)

Will take your advice and work on the horizons as suggested, and repost my results back here for further comments.

The link you've posted for Freestone is wrong - the .com bit takes me to some dodgy directory site. I Googled it and found that the link should be: http://www.faststone.org/