Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo Critiques

Old Apr 28, 2006, 5:12 AM   #1

In my ongoing quest to understand the rule of thirds and it's application to composition in my pictures, some suggestions on how best to crop, rotate, etc. this image in order to apply the rule succesfully would really be appreciated. (All I've done to the image is a little sharpening, and resized it for the forum, otherwise it's from the camera.)

I realise that this may be a slightly controversial area of discussion right now, and far be it for me to throw another spanner in the works, but I'm starting to get the hang of how it works in terms of verticals and horizontals, but can't quite figure it out for more circular images.

I've taken to drawing thirds grid-lines on my monitor screen in erasable felt tips its' become so confusing!!
Attached Images

Godzillza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 28, 2006, 5:29 AM   #2

Hi Greg,

I'm no expert on the subject but the original you posted doesn't look bad to me, given the fact that you have the water disturbances as part of the shot alongside the flower. Just did a quick editas an alternaive with the water disturbances and the bud forming a 'sort of' diagonal. Don't know if this has any merit as I'm a bit of a philistine on such matters. :-)
Attached Images

SteveDak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2006, 5:40 AM   #3

Hi Godzilla,

I have been away for a few weeks so I am not sure what has been going on. So I will say what ever I darn well please! LOL

There are a lot of different options and as a consequence there is no real right or wrong answer. Everyone will have their opinion as to the how it should be done and for the most part they will ALL be right (except for the ones that disagree with me!:G)

Do you want to keep the flower whole or partial? What was it that captured your attention in the water? These are things that need considering.