Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Resizing / Interpolation

Old Oct 5, 2003, 4:47 PM   #1

Default Increasing Size of Photos

Hi, I'm pretty new to digital images and photoshop (I have photoshop 6.0).I have some pictures from a recent vacation that I took using a Canon Powershot G3, but I had to use 1600x1200 resolution otherwise I wouldn't have been able to get all the pictures I did. Anyways, anytime I try to make them bigger for prints, etc, they come out very pixelated. How do I resize images to (for example) 8x10 from a 1600x1200 picture with losing quality? Thanks.
SpeedyManiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 5, 2003, 8:52 PM   #2

Default Try Qimage

"Speedy" -

Give Qimage a try. It does an excellent job at interpolation (or resizing.) It does not alter the original file (image) but interpolates up or down depending on original specs and the desired print size. I've used it for the last 10 months and have been exceptionally pleased with it's performance.

Qimage is available at http://www.ddisoftware.com/ It has a 30 day trial period, limiting only the size of the print cue (if I recall correctly), not the quality of the prints. Plus, Mike Chaney has a dedicated "piece of the forum" here (Printing - Qimage 2003 Support) and responds fairly quickly to questions. Upgrades are free.

Hope this helps.

Paul in NoVA
C-730 B-300 WCON-07
plg3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2003, 7:36 PM   #3

Speedy, I really, really recommend an X-drive. They are lightweight, hold an incredible amount of data, and are very affordable - especially if you purchase one without the hard drive, purchase a drive from someone such as Computer Geeks, and put in in yourself. All you have to do is open it and pop in the drive.