Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Ricoh

Old May 9, 2005, 4:55 AM   #1

Hi

I'm looking to get myself a Caplio, but which one?

Can anyone offer any advice as to which would be the better option?

Would anyone care to share their experiences of using thes cameras?

any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you

Si
SunshineSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 9, 2005, 7:51 AM   #2

Hi,

I have been using a Caplio GX for about 5 months and am quite happy with it. The zoom is limited to 85 mm (35mm equivalent) but this is not a problem for me : I crop on the PC if required (I don't use the digital zoom). I had once a power supply problem with the Ni-MH rechargeable battries I use, Ricoh told me it would not have occured with a Li-ion battery which would also shorten the file transfer time to SD card. On close-up setting the flash underexposes, but I have not yet tried an external flash, which this camera supports.

If you find the Rollei dr5100 is cheaper, get it : it's the same as Ricoh GX
dmau58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2005, 3:18 AM   #3

Hi

Thanks for the reply.

That;s interesting about the power problems - I was planning totake my camera on my trevels for a year and will be using AA batteries (NiMH ones), sois this likely to cause me a problem?

Does anyone knowit looks like I can get the Caplio R2 for justĀ£40 more than the Rolleidr5100 - do you think it would be worth the extra money (not too fussed about the bigger screen, but theextra zoom wouldbe good)? Are there anyother mods/improvements that the R2 has?

Also,reviews of the R2 are a little thin on the ground - all I find is regurgitated press-releasesfrom Ricoh - can anyone point me to any?

Si
Old May 10, 2005, 5:57 AM   #4

Hi,