Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Ricoh

Old Jun 18, 2005, 11:38 AM   #1

Hi I am a newbie here and just got my Rollei DR5100 for 2 days (Hong Kong Dollar

1680, about USD215). The manual mention a "synchro monitor" power saving mode

wherein the LCD stay OFF until you half press the shutter. I can make the LCD go off

but off it stays -- cannot be turned ON by half-pressing the shutter. Is something

wrong with my unit ?

Also the manual mention AF illuminator but I cannot find any trace of its presence. Are

there some menu setting controlling this ?

I am puzzled and pondering whether to send the unit back or not, can anybody help?

Thanks !!!

soandso is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 20, 2005, 2:00 PM   #2

I searched the downloadablepdf manual for 'AF illuminator' and those words weren't found.

What section/page do they talk about the illuminator?

One thing the manual doesn't cover, or if it does, I didn't find it, is PHOTOGRAPHY THROUGH WINDOWS. Which is strange. Because you are going to do this some time or other.

As with all AF cameras you should set the AF manually to infinity - and this you do with onthe 5100using themenu.

Manual setting to infinity also means lightning fast firing time when you take sports/action shots. And in very bright conditions so there is a deep depth of field, setting the AF to 'snaps' and the 28 or 35mm zoom settings will have everything in focus from 1.5 meters to infinity - so you never miss a candid photo-op waiting to focus. Just point and shoot.

But remember to RESET to AUTO FOCUS when you finish the session!!

I've left the LCD on for 10 minutes or more waiting for shots. Didn't create problems with battery drain. The more you switch electronics on and off the more likely failure can occur due tovoltage changes. Components like stable voltages.
maxpixels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2005, 4:37 PM   #3

Hi