Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Ricoh

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Sep 12, 2005, 7:21 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 85
Default

What if anything has anyone heard about the R3? Price, quality, date of release? I'm looking for a simple point & Shoot for my wife.
broisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 20, 2005, 3:10 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Default

I have posted a review of the R3:

http://www.w4rmk.com/ricoh/RicohR3.htm
w4rmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2005, 12:30 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default

The R3 feature list and design looked great and made my mouth watery.

Thanks for your review -- it was very helpful to me ... and sorry ... after reading your very practical analysis I won't be buying your Caplio R3 either :sad:. Looks like Ricoh have really missed the shot.
oliverR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2005, 1:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 448
Default

@w4rmk:
thanks for your execellent review. I have myself a Ricoh GX. Despite its larger 1/1.8 CCD it too suffers a lot from, but with the R3 and its smaller 1/2.5 CCD the problem became even worse, as your pictures show. Ricoh simply doesn't get noise under control. However my GX suffers from excessive chromatic aberrations as well and in this respect the R3 has improved substantially. I haven't seen any such ugly purple seams in your pics. Of course, the image stabiliser should work as well, though you can't expect a CCD based image stabiliser to be as good as an optical one. Especially your wide angle pics are also fairly. Thus if we wouldn't have the noise problem, it would really be a fine camera. It is really a pitty that Ricoh doesn't address this problem.
kassandro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2006, 9:43 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 146
Default

Ricoh has new firmwares for R3 to fix all the problems you guy have. I just bought one last week with the latest firmware and do not have any problem.
lsifs is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.