Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Samsung NX

Old Sep 17, 2012, 7:56 AM   #1

Default Help choosing the right 18-55mm lens for NX100

Hi there,

First time poster and new NX100 buyer here - due to arrive tomorrow.

This will be my first 'proper' camera after many years using compact cameras so I'm a bit new to the concept of interchangeable lenses (lens'?) and wondered if I could ask for a bit of help?

I'm considering replacing the bundled lens (depending on how well it handles low light situations) with an 18-55mm lens with OIS. Looking on ebay (won't link in case I'm breaking any rules) there appears to be two NX compatible lenses available though a Samsung surplus stockist at what seem to be very reasonable prices, but I'm a bit stumped as to which one I should order.

I've tried googling and looking at the user manual but can only see a reference to an '18-55mm lens' being available for the NX100 but no specific model no. etc.

The model no. / description for the two available is as follows:

i) Samsung EX-S1855SB 18-55m F/3.5-5.6 OIS lens -79.99

ii) Samsung 18-55mm F/3.5-5.6 OIS MK III lens -119.99

The second lens is 40 more expensive (approx. $60-70 I think) and looking at the pic it appears to support i-Function, which I don't think the S1855SB has.

Is anyone able to confirm that both are compatabile the NX100 (I think they can) and if the OIS function will work properly? Is there any compelling reason to buy the more expensive of the two (on lens control of aperture etc.?) or would the cheaper one work well enough?

Any help or info would be greatly appreciated!

Best,
Mark

Last edited by jellofund; Sep 17, 2012 at 5:21 PM.
jellofund is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 17, 2012, 3:23 PM   #2

Managed to find some lenses on Samsung's US site.

From what I can tell there are 3 18-55mm lenses. Model no's as follows:

S1855SB (the cheaper one I saw)