Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sanyo

Old Mar 1, 2007, 10:22 AM   #1

:??:?

Hi i own a Imac G5 and I use iMovie for all my editing. iMovie has a function called Magic Movie which basically imports all your video & picture and burns a dvd all in one step. Heres the kicker, iMovie asks for you to hook up your camcorder with a Firewire cable and the HD1a doesn't come with one :sad:.. I've called Sanyo and they said they just don'tmake one (there guywas shortwith me and wouldn't give me a reason why) but it just doesn't make any sence! Is there a reason why Sanyo doesn't make a Firewire cable?? I'm new to digital Camcorder but it seems like every camera should come with a firewire b/c they import video faster.

Please Help
Kamakibob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 1, 2007, 12:20 PM   #2

The Xacti HD1a / HD2uses USB 2.0 and is not designed to and doesn't have the chipset to use firewire. Main reason is firewire isn't necessary for this type of camera as you are not importing live video but rather copying a compressed MPEG4 file.

I also use a G5 with iMovie. To get the images into iMovie, you can simply use the camera as a card reader. Open up the card (like any other disk drive). Grab all of the clips and pull them into the iMovie clip boxes. Each clip will occupy an individual box. I movie works quite well with the HD1a / HD2 files.

I'm not sure how that will work with Magic Movie as I have not used that.
Sanyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2007, 1:11 PM   #3