Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sanyo

Old Feb 20, 2008, 7:14 AM   #1

Hey guys,

Having spent most of last night (I don't get out much) trawling through the monster 51 page thread I am left feeling more confused than I was prior to reading it. Don't get me wrong I'm pretty darn good with computers (I program for a living), however I find working with video content quite frustrating (particularly HD). I am only really beginning to understand the detailed nature of the various codecs. My current workflow is basically Vegas to Cineform for editing, and then re-encoding for whatever my needs are. What I am really aiming for though is to output to a DVD/Blu ray in H.264 or MPEG2 for HD playback in my PS3 (and possibly a stand alone Blu Ray).

It seems to me though that the best codec to achieve a near lossless re-encoding is DivX. I say this because a lot of the folks over at Stage6 have achieved far better with their content than I have been able to with mine. Regardless of what options I use in Vegas it seems to me that when I encode to either MPEG2 or H.264 I get a fairly noticable hit in quality.

I have read a lot of vague HDV discussions about basic editing without the need to re-encode at all (i.e. cut, trim, join etc). Has anyone experimented with anything like this for HD1000? So what are your workflows for viewing your content in as high a quality as possible?

Cheers
AvalonHaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 20, 2008, 7:40 AM   #2

If you intend to play on a PS3, you really do not have to bother with any re-encoding unless you want a professional output with fancy title, fading between scenes etc etc.

All you need to do is do the edititing within the camera, which is painless, then join all your clips together (in the camera), the resulting file can be stored in PS3 and played directly. And you can keep that file on another harddisk for future use.