Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sanyo

Old Apr 17, 2008, 10:30 AM   #1

I tried to find a thread on this but I could not. I just purchased a HD-1000 and the Xacti Library software says that it only workds on a hard drive formated in FAT32. I have read the posts on other editing software and it appears that Vegas is a good one. The question I have is, if you use Vegas to edit your video do you still have to work off a hard drive formated in FAT32 like you would with the Xacti Library software? And if you use Vegas do you have to even load the Xacti Library software on the computer at all? I am new at this so please go easy.

Thank You
Thor70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 17, 2008, 11:24 AM   #2

I think you're confusing the issue. The Xacti Library function is so you can connect an external hard drive to the *camera* so you can transfer files from the card to the drive. The drive does need to be formatted FAT32 and most usually are already when you receive them. It doesn't matter if your computer drive is NTFS or any other file system. Files can be transfered from the FAT32 formatted external drive to your PC and back without having to do anything and with no compatibility problems at all. You also do not need any software to use the Xacti Library function.

Rev.
Rev2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 17, 2008, 12:28 PM   #3

Rev,