Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sanyo

Old Jun 5, 2008, 1:59 PM   #1

I am trying to research which camera to purchase.

Budget:

I am a college student, so I do not have money to just throw around. I treat this more like an investment – something that I want to last quite a few years. Let's say about $400 but hopefully a lil less. (This is inclusive of memory costs)

Use:

I am an architecture student who has to travel to locations for site planning. I need a small camera able to be easily carried with me so I can record video of the site for playback and be able to take pictures of the location. I am also active with a variety of sports. So, I would like the camera to be capable of successfully catching moving objects/persons. I would need the camera capable of use outside in sunny and overcast days and inside well lit areas – architecture studio class and home. I would also like, but not necessary, that I can take still shots while filming.

Light vs. Low-light:

I plan to mainly use this camera during sunny or overcast days outside. I wish also to use this camera in a well lit room inside. I know low-light or nighttime would be difficult to capture anything. Rarely will I have the need to record outside during night or inside in a low lit area.

Capacity:

I would like the ability to record at least a continuous hour while still having capacity for many still pictures.

Priorities:

I prefer the camcorder features over the still camera features. But I want the best of both worlds in terms of quality as much as possible

[line]

Research:

I know very little about the subject of camera specs and what is better than what. I am trying to read up on everything so that I can make an informed decision.

I know I do not want a camera like the Flip Ultra. That camera is too fixed. I need the options of being able to swap out a memory card to take more pictures or film. I also would like better quality pictures/film.