Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sanyo

Old Feb 4, 2009, 5:15 PM   #1

Hi there,

I have been using my HD1010 for around 6 months now and was really pleased with the video and photo results.

In the last few weeks I have noticed that the video is still fine but the photos seem very dark in the blacks with very little detail.

I use the camera in auto mode most of the time.

Here is an example of the darkness:-

which i then have to process to look like:-

This exact same problem occurred on my old HD1 hence I bought my HD1010 and the same thing has happened! Does anyone know what it is or how I can reset the camera?

Many Thanks

Lee
http://www.xacti.co.uk
djleekee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 4, 2009, 6:16 PM   #2

Check your metering settings to see if it is on spot metering. If you take a photo of a scene with no large differences between dark and light are the photos still dark?
relate2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2009, 6:24 PM   #3

oo that all sounds a bit technical!

ill ask around locally to see if anyone has one!

thanks.
Old Feb 4, 2009, 7:05 PM   #4

It is just a setting in the menu. If you scan the menus you will be able to see if it is set on Spot metering or not.

If it is, it would also show up in your videos every time the centre of your shot is bright but away from the centre is dark. When the camera is set to spot metering the camera only looks at the light in the middle of the shot to set the aperture/shutter speed etc. If it is set to spot metering all you have to do is change it to one of the other two options.
relate2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2009, 5:43 PM   #5

Ive just found that menu on the HD1010 and it is currently set to MULTI.

Ive selected another option and taken some photos and then reverted back to MULTI to see if there is any change - but there isnt!

V strange!
Old Apr 7, 2009, 4:10 PM   #6