Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sanyo

Old Jul 1, 2009, 8:33 PM   #1

Default FH1 and SDHC

hi there newbie here.

2 days ago i ordered FH1 on amazon. oh well, shipping says it should be here on friday, july 3. the right time to take sample on holiday!

now i saw this very good deal on samsclub and they have toshiba 16gb sdhc class 4 for $29 pick this afternoon at my local samsclub.

my question now is. how is class 4 when recording @ 1080p 60p? is there any lag or issues? let me know if none so i can buy 1 more 16gb at sams
or if there is any issues i will buy 32gb class 6 over ebay.

thanks in advanced!
ad78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 1, 2009, 9:13 PM   #2

Well, 1080P at 60 frames per second... according to Sanyo specs, the maximum bitrate is 24Mbps (megabits per second). That translates to 3072 kilobytes per second, and that translates to exactly 3 Megabytes per second.

According to Toshiba's website, the maximum read/write speed for their SDHC class4 cards is 6 megabytes per second, which is twice the bandwidth that the FH1 requires on the 1080P @ 60fps setting.

You got to remember that the 6 megabytes per second is a maximum, and will probably not be constant, but the card does meet the specifications of Class 4 standard, a speed standard that requires a data write speed of at least (as in, a minumum of) 4MB. So you still would have an extra megabyte of 'bandwidth' as a buffer.
subc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 9:30 PM   #3

thanks man. well said

i am like a madman tracking my FH1
Old Jul 1, 2009, 9:33 PM   #4

I have been using class 4 SDHC cards (Kingston, 8GB) in my HD2000 (similar to FH1) and did not notice any problem. So coupled with the theory in the post from subc, I suppose class 4 SDHC cards are OK for the FH1. Happy holiday videoing!
ronaldkwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2009, 9:36 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronaldkwok View Post