Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sanyo

Old Oct 22, 2009, 4:49 AM   #1

Default HD2000 Questions

Hi All

Newbie here, I have done a search but not exactly found the answers I have been looking for. Sorry if this bothers anyone that I am posting this but it will help me alot and no doubt save me some money!

I bought the Sanyo HD2000 off eBay today, brand new for 297. I wanted a video camera that can shoot HD and take decent still photos to take with me to Las Vegas. (I have a Canon 350D but don't want to take this with me to Vegas).

After doing a lot of reading & research I finally came to the decision that for my money, the HD2000 is good bang for buck.

So my questions to all you Sanyo HD2000 owners are:

1. I want to shoot my trip in HD, I own a 2 year old Apple MacBook Pro (2.2Ghz, 2Gb Ram, 160GB HD) and want to know what HD Resolution/Mode to shoot in. I want to be able to edit and view it on my laptop so the top end HD mode may not be the one I want to use!

2. How much memory (SDHC Cards) am I going to need?! I've looked around and can find a 16GB Kingston Class 4 SDHC card for 20.95 inc P&P. The 32GB equivalent is 66 so can get 3 x 16Gb for the price of 32GB. So I am not sure if 16Gb, 32GB or 48Gb will be the best option?!

3. If I do get a 16GB card, I know the format the cards use limit it to 4GB of video before it stops and you have to start again. So how much video time will I get on a 16GB card from a decent/editable HD Video Mode?!

4. Am I going to need to buy an SDHC Card Reader to plug into my MacBook Pro to transfer the videos/photos from my HD2000 or can I stick the HD2000 in the dock and connect the dock via USB to transfer the videos/photos?!

5. Battery life?! What do you as a consumer get out of a full charge from your HD2000?! Is it wise to buy a second battery?!