Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sanyo

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 12, 2005, 5:30 PM   #161
Senior Member
 
Grunchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Seiboshen: sure, I'll let ya know.

Warehouse123had two shipping options to Canada, $31 for 2-day delivery or $28 for 6-day delivery (naturally, beingcheap& not caring too muchI opted for 6-day).:roll:

So far they haven't billed my credit card, their sitesays they don't do that until the day it ships, so that sounds good. Their security method is two-fold, it asks for the 3-digit security number on the back of the credit card, and it ships only to the credit card billing address (so they would not be able to process gift orders for example).


Grunchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2005, 10:27 PM   #162
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I'm supposed to receive it tomarrow. From warehouse123. They charged $259+29EMS

If I don't post, I'm out taking pictures and videos. Give me a day or two post pictures.

I learned from a friend who is technically familiar with CCD imaging that 9-pix sum function used in C6 is patented stuff way(WAY) better than typical sectional video imaging done on any other mpeg4's in other cameras. not only it will do sharper and smoother coding but also will give color advantage that sony or panasonic will not even dream about. obvious visible result is low-light situation that everyone saw by now. i'm looking forwardto get it and i'll keep you all updated.



FFF (Fly'n Fat Father.. my 8yr old kid says..)
flyn-fat-father is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2005, 11:12 PM   #163
Senior Member
 
Caelum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,030
Default

flyn-fat-father wrote:
Quote:
I'm supposed to receive it tomarrow. From warehouse123. They charged $259+29EMS[...]
Hi FFF, first I'll assume you meant $529, second can you tell us when you placedyourorder?(I assume you're tracking it to know it'll be there tomorrow)
Caelum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2005, 11:14 PM   #164
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 43
Default

Well I received my C6 today from Plemix (ordered on the 6th and shipped on the 9th). I'm not happy about the fact that Plemix advertised a VPC-6 and the one I received says on the box: DMX-C6(S). It also says: "For Japah Only. Not intended for sale outside Japan and contains no warranty for outside Japan. The included accessories are for use in Japan only."

In spite of that, the User's manual says "For Canadian Users" and is written in English. There is what appears to be a quick start guide that is written in Japanese. What appears to be a warranty card is also in Japanese.

All the accessories seem to be complete, and I am charging the battery right now. I don't see any reason at this point why the Japanese version won't work for me in the U.S. I guess the greatest risk is if something breaks within the warranty period, I will probably have to foot the repair bill myself. Hopefully that won't be an issue.

If I had to do it over again, I'd probably order from Warehouse 123, assuming whatever variety they are shipping has a warranty that is valid in the U.S. But I'll probably keep my unit from Plemix (assuming it works right) because the probable hassel involved in returning the unit to them (based on receiving a product (DMX) that is different than what was advertised (VPC) is probably not worth the effort.
gusher1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2005, 11:32 PM   #165
Senior Member
 
Caelum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,030
Default

gusher1, Thanks for letting us know, interesting how it took longer to ship than actually get here. I'll bet warehouse123 ships the same DMX Japanese model, and even if they don't it will definitely havethe samewarranty limitations. The VPC-C6 won't "exist" in the US until February and any model you buy from overseas will not have a valid warranty in the US.

You should be fine with the DMX model, like you said, unlessyou get somebad luck hardware failure. These are the risks of being an "early adopter". In fact, of any other place in the world, a Japan model would be the most compatiblein North America (same power/plugs, NTSC). Canadian user manual? Weird, but interesting, at least you got one in English.
Caelum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2005, 3:31 AM   #166
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 43
Default

I've played around with the camera for a while now and I may have a major issue. The camera works just fine, but when I connected the docking station to my computer and tried to install the Sanyo software, I ran into problems.

First, when I connected the docking station to a USB port and turned on the camera, my computer does not appear to recognize that any new device was connected. It does not show any new device having been connected. While the camera seems to think it is connected, because it gives me a "USB Connection" menu, the computer doesn't seem to recognize the camera.

Second, when I tried to install Disk 1 of the 2 Sanyo software disks, I get an error message saying "D:\ is not a valid Win32 application." The computer seems to read Disk 2 just fine, but I haven't installed it yet.

So I'm not sure what is going on. I would think my computer would recognize the new device even without the Sanyo software installed. But it isn't. And just to complicate matters further, Disk 1 has what appears to be scratches on it, which may be what is preventing my computer from reading it. But I have no idea whether the lack of software is the reason why my computer is not recognizing the new device.

So if anybody has any suggestions for me, I'm all ears. If I can't get my camera to talk to my computer, it is of no use to me. Does anybody know whether the computer needs to have the software installed in order to recognize the camera? Could I download the software from somewhere? Any other suggestions?

gusher1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2005, 4:10 AM   #167
Senior Member
 
Grunchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Well, your computer should recognize that something has been connected via USB.
It could be a faulty cable or a faulty plug (ie the camera could be detecting power from the USB cord, but messages back to the computer may not be getting through).

You've tried other USB outlets on the computer? Perhaps you are using a USB hub, or could try one? How about trying a USB 1.1 outlet, such as one on the side of a keyboard?

It is possible that the first CD has a USB driver for communicating with the camera that you are missing, though you should be able to download that from Sanyo in a pinch. You should call the store who sold you the camera & ask about exchanging the CD. Another idea, you could try using Nero (or whatever) to create a copy of the disc. I bought a treadmill that came with iFit CDs but they were just scratched enough that the would not work on the treadmill player, brand new, but I was able to copy them onto blank CDRs with Nero and the copies work great! Funny enough, but I've even successfully repaired CDs with a scratch-repair kit, at least well enough to make a backup copy.

It'd be quite a coincidence to get a package with both a scratched CD and a broken USB cord. If your store won't help you, and if you bought with Visa, supposedly they have purchase-protection warranty for all purchases. I was going to buy my Escort station wagon with Visa for that reason (wound up unable to find the Visa cheques) just in case something broke down on it in the first year (fortunately nothing went wrong, and it still runs fine!)

I bet it's just a case of persistence. How about a SD card reader? The new computers use 8-way card readers instead of 3.5" disk drive, that's another way to access the data (though kind of a drag changing that card in & out I suppose).

How does the dock work otherwise, S-AV output & battery charging?
Grunchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2005, 4:46 AM   #168
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 43
Default

Thanks for the suggestions. I actually got it working. The user's manual says nothing about this. I was assuming that in order to establish the USB connection, the camera would need to be turned on (and therefore, have the LCD screen open). When I did it this way, the computer simply wouldn't recognize that there was a new device attached, although the camera was recognizing that it was connected to a USB drive.

When I closed the LCD screen and docked, voila, the computer recognized the device and was able to read the pictures stored on the SD card. With some experimentation, what I've found is that the LCD screen must be closed and the camera can be either turned off or in standby mode, and then placed into the docking cradle. There's a little button on the docking cradle that you push to establish the USB connection with the computer. Simple enough, but there was no documentation of any of that in the user's manual. Because every other digital camera I've had has to be turned on when connecting to the computer, and because I assumed the LCD screen had to be open for the C6 to be on, I kept trying to do this with the LCD screen open and it didn't work that way.

BTW, I got the software to install too, but that wasn't the reason the camera wasn't connecting. It was actually glue on the CD, and a little saliva and a cloth took care of that. Now I can go to bed.
gusher1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2005, 7:12 AM   #169
Senior Member
 
Caelum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,030
Default

Glad to hear you got to go to bed with some peace of mind. And thanks for the pointers, what OS are you using? XP? I was looking at the C5 manual and it states that the camera has three USB modes: "Card reader", "PC camera" (webcam) and "Pictbridge" (direct printing). Supposed to be a light indicator that differenciates Pictbridge (red) from the other two (green). I'm wondering if perhaps when you connect to the PC with the power on if it's assuming "PC camera" (webcam) modeand when you connect to the PC with the power off it's assuming "Card reader" mode?
Caelum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2005, 10:26 AM   #170
Senior Member
 
Grunchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 153
Default

Yeah, good for you that it worked in the end.:-)

You know what, I just got a Sandisk mp3 player and I found to my surprise that it doesn't even need the battery in it to connect via USB, so in that sense it works like one of those USB jump drives. It sounds like theXacti works like that.


Grunchy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.