Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sanyo

Old Dec 9, 2005, 4:50 AM   #1

As the proud new owner of a C5, I was quite displeased to discover no SD card included. (even though the box indicated "SD Memory Card made in Japan")

I had a few SD cards laying around after upgrades to my Axim memory storage, but they weren't high speed.

I think the picture/video takes too long to write to memory.

I was wondering what experience others had with different SD cards (standard versus high speed) and any recommendations.

On a positive note: This is one unbelievable digicam, feature and size-wise.

Thanks.
sixt7gt350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 9, 2005, 12:29 PM   #2

Hi sixt7gt350, I don't have a C5 so I have no experience to share with you, but since thehigh qualitymovie bit rate is just over 3Mbps and 1x isconsidered 150KBps,in theory your SD needs to be at least 3x.I'm notcertain butmost"normal" SDcardsshould exceed this. I've seenstandard Sandisk SDs ratedas 20x (x150KBps = 3MBps = 24Mbps). If your SD was too slow you wouldn't be able to record in highest quality movie without problems. You say video takes too long to write to memory, but it has to happen in real-time since the C5 wouldn't be able to buffer minutes of video. Do you mean the turnaround time, after you finish shooting a video segment? Remember that for high quality photos the camera needs to take the raw 5Mp (xRGB=15MB) sensor image and compress it to JPEG to save it, so that takes a little processing time regardless of the SD speed.

Did you read Steve'sDigicam's review conclusionof the C5? He mentions thatit's a good performerand he had a shot to shot delay of 2 seconds with a 60x, are you experiencing a slower turnaround?
Caelum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2005, 3:07 PM   #3

I found a site that compared SD cards, including the Sandisk Ultra II and plain old blue Sandisk cards.