Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Sep 14, 2006, 2:38 PM   #1

ok, this is my first time doing a wedding, and i was all by myself with pointers here and there.

the couple was highly pleased with my work, they didnt ask for a masterpiece of equipment and assistants. this also was reflected in the pay which was half a grand.

it took a while to find a good site, i tried flickr.com which is horrible at uploading, and went to zoto.com, my link http://aergyle.zoto.com

the equipment i used was:

KM 5D, and a KM 5 when i ran out of battery at the end of the reception (so i only had to use one roll thankfully, these photos arent in the gallery)

tokina 28-70 at-x f2.8 . i used this for most of the shoot and it supported my needs fine, however i feel that if it was just a little less wide i would've been screwed. but for $150 this was great

tokina 80-400 at-x f4.5-5.6, i used this for close-ups from far away, primarily the ones you see of the couple on the bench with the mill in the background.

the place was by an old grist mill, and a 300 yr old house with an adjacent lake, it was basically like a historical park, but these people owned it.

the flash i used was a sunpak 333, this was the hardest part of the wedding because it was manual, thankfully the LCD saved my ass, and the daylight (overcast) helped aleviate my need of a flash. also i realize its really hard to screw up bounce flash. however, in the reception tent which was humongous the ceiling reached about 50 feet into the air so that made a problem for bounce. i fixed a few over/underexposed photos with photoshop.

also where the bride and groom exchanged vows which was under a small arch, and the arch made horrible angles in my opinion for photos :evil:but they liked it.