Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jan 1, 2007, 7:27 AM   #1

I'm a rookie when it comes to using digital cameras.

I'm running into problems when shooting close-ups where part of the subject is reflective. I've tried direct flash, bounce flash, various clip-on flash diffusers and incandescent light to illuminate the subject. Shooting the top of a AA battery illustrates the problem (see attachment).

Can anybody offer help on the cause(s) and cure(s) of this problem?

Happy New Year to you all!

FrankD
Attached Images

FrankD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 1, 2007, 12:24 PM   #2
Administrator

You're overexposing it causing blown highlights.

What was your setup for the shot? The EXIF shows flash wasn' t used with a 1/4 second exposure using Auto (although if you use a third non-dedicated flash, the EXIF won't reflect that).

Give us more info on your setup. But, from outward appearances, you're just overexposing the shot. Use a different mode for one thing. Then, use Exposure Compensation so that you're not overexposing the image. A -EV setting will give you a darker exposure.

If you're using a third party non-dedicated flash with manual settings, use a smaller aperture on the camera (higher f/stop number) if it's overexposing with it's settings. Or, if the issue is too much ambient light (I couldn't help but notice the long 1/4 second shutter), use a faster shutter speed with manual exposure if you want the same aperture that Auto used.

I can't tell why the overexposure existed from the info you gave us, since the EXIF shows no flash was used. Did you use one for this shot or not?

Use of Spot Metering probably contributed to the problem, too. If you meter on a darker portion of a subject, it's going to try and brighten it too much, causing more overexposure. With shutter speeds that slow, metering is not going to be reliable anyway.