Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Mar 25, 2007, 1:13 PM   #1
Administrator

Someone is now offering a hotshoe adapter with voltage protection built in (allow you to use third party hotshoe or PC Sync Port attached strobes with a KM or Sony DSLR, even if the trigger voltages are higher (up to 400v), according to the manufacturer.

It appears to be the same adapter housing as this popular adapter made in Hong Kong (which has no voltage protection circuitry built in)

http://www.gadgetinfinity.com/produc...275&page=1

Here is the new adapter with voltage protection built into it (Porter's is now listing it):

Hotshoe Adapter with Voltage Protection at porters.com

It's also being sold by the distributor. For more information, see this page:

http://www.safe-sync.com/Sony_Alpha_A100_safe_sync.htm

Note that I have no experience with this adapter (new one with voltage protection) and I have not noticed anyone report using one yet.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 26, 2007, 11:55 AM   #2

I'm waiting on an email from the manufacturer to see if the adapter has any circuitry to talk to the camera.

The newer Minolta/Sony flashes use a serial protocol to talk to each other. This includes the firing of the flash. The newer maxxums might provide a short of pins 1 & 2 to trigger older minolta flashes, but Sony really had no reason to do this since they are only making flashes that talk using the serial protocol.

It sounds like they are buying the housing from gadget infinity and then adding the safe sync circuity to it so it may have the logic circuit since the gadget infinity adapters seem to.

kberntsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2007, 12:16 PM   #3
Administrator

The adapter doesn't even have any pins on the ISO standard side of it other than the center pin and outside ground for triggering a flash.