Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old May 26, 2007, 10:39 AM   #1

I have pretty much decided that the Sony A100 is the way to go.
These lenses from my Minolta will fit. They are a bit larger that the current line of DSLR lenses but in my case there free. Had them for many years.
Attached Images

Flying Fossil is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 26, 2007, 1:01 PM   #2

It's a good start! Do you plan on shooting any wide angle? You may find 35mm is not wide enough.
FrankD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2007, 9:41 AM   #3

Would the kit 18 to 70 be better?

I was thinking of the body only with a 2gb SanDisk Ultra ll and an extra battery to start with.

Do you have a specific wide angle lense in mind. Some indoor shots would surely benefit from a wide angle lense. Bare in mind that I AM NOT a professional. I am fairly new to digital and photography in general.
Old May 27, 2007, 10:08 AM   #4
Administrator

It's not just the indoor shots that benefit (although trying to get group shots in a typical room could be difficult without a wider lens).

Outdoor shots can benefit, too (trying to get an entire building or tree into an image an more). You can only back up so much in many situations (and you may not want to back up to get a shot, even if you have the room. ;-)

You can buy a used 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5 DT lens for under $100 (barely, depending on condition if you shop around at vendors like http://www.keh.com (look under the Sony and Minolta zoom lenses). It's closer to $200 new ($189 at B&H), so it's a pretty good deal as part of a camera kit (usually only adds about $100 to the kit price).

So, you could see how your existing lenses work for what you like to shoot before deciding, and just get a used 18-70mm if you decide to go that way later and not break the bank.