Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old May 26, 2007, 11:40 AM   #1

Hi all,

I am about to buy new lens for my Sony Alpha A100. I have the standard 18-70mm lens and I have had a look into low budget 70-300mm telephoto lenses, finding the following two as the most attractive alternatives:

Tamron 4,0-5,6/70-300mm Di LD Macro 1:2
Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 DG MACRO

I know they are not top lenses but I am not a professional photographer :-)

I need to decide between those two so I would greatly appreciate if someone could give me his/her opinion/personal experience about them!

Thanks in advance,

/N

newstor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 26, 2007, 12:19 PM   #2

Have you excluded the Sony 75-300mm? I have the older Minolta version of this lens. It has reasonable performace for a low cost lens.
FrankD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2007, 12:32 PM   #3

Thanks for your reply Frank. Yes, I did look into it but I found it to be over my budget (at least here in Europe is about 100 euros (135 US dollars) more expensive than the other two :sad

Regards,

/N

FrankD wrote:
Quote:
Have you excluded the Sony 75-300mm? I have the older Minolta version of this lens. It has reasonable performace for a low cost lens.
newstor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2007, 1:15 PM   #4

newstor wrote:
Quote:
Thanks for your reply Frank. Yes, I did look into it but I found it to be over my budget (at least here in Europe is about 100 euros (135 US dollars) more expensive than the other two :sad
WOW!In the US, the Sony is only about $10-$20 more!

The concensus seems to be that the Sony is a little better that the Sigma and Tamron, so maybe you should shop around a little more.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2007, 1:17 PM   #5