Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Sep 7, 2007, 9:40 PM   #1

hi guys! i'm back, basketball season kicks off for us in two weeks. yall were great in answering some questions for me last season and i need some advice. i would like to purchase a new lens. i have a minolta 50mm 1.7 that i used last year and borrowed my son-in-law's sigma 90mm 2.8a time or two. i would like something a little longer maybe like his but one of my own. i understand that i need something fast, probably not less (or is that more?) than the 2.8. i am kind of finally getting the relationship between the apperture, shutter speed and iso in the gym. i did read with great interest your posts on the guy asking about the lens for thebandrecently and picked upsome ideas there. please be patient with me, i'm still learning alot. anyway.... i've given these some thought.....

possibly something like my son-in-law's (but one of my own). i've seen a minolta 100 f2.0 for about $550 at bhphotovideo, i think. there was a minolta 100 f2.8 somewhere that wasn't much cheaper. or is the sigma 90mm 2.8 (like son-in-law's) a better lens than the minoltas. i did also see a sony 85mm 1.4 for 1299. whew! or a minolta 85 1.4 on ebay for around 850-900. is the 85mm 1.4 worth it? would i likely get a higher percentage of keepers?