Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Sep 16, 2007, 6:09 PM   #1

Hello,

I have a Sony Alpha100 camera and I am new to photography so please excuse my question if it seems obvious. I have taken quite a few pictures that I am satisfied with but when I take pictures of white objects, I get a blue fringe around the object. I thought it might be the lens but it does not always happen. Can someone give me an idea as to what I am doing wrong?

The picture (bird.jpg) is attached:
Sony Alpha 100 camera using Sony 300mm zoom lens
Focal length at 300mm
1/400 sec @ F5.6
ISO 100

Thanks
Attached Images

Piperbret is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 16, 2007, 6:41 PM   #2
Administrator

It's probably the lens. I think you're seeing some Chromatic Aberrations, and this often manifests itself as purple fringing on high contrast edges with digital, due to the way the light interacts with the microlenses on the sensor.

Most lenses like this are going to be a little softer on their long end (you said zoom, so I'm asssuming this is the Sony 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6), and you're shooting with the aperture wide open at f/5.6 (which is going to be it's softest aperture at that focal length).

So, you're shooting at the softest part of the lens, using a wide open aperture.

But, even the best lenses can get a bit of purple fringing with these types of shots, especially with their aperture wide open.

I'd try stopping down the aperture a bit (for example, shoot in Av mode at f/8 or f/11 instead of wide open at f/5.6 on the long end) and see if that helps.
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2007, 7:11 PM   #3
Administrator

P.S.