Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Apr 4, 2008, 9:02 AM   #1

Looking for some advice. I own an Alpha 700, KM 5D, Minolta 7000 series and down the line back to 1970! Right now I am attempting to determine which 70-200mm lens to purchase for my 5D and 700. I take a lot of indoor basketball shots as well as wildlife photography on occasion. I can spend the $2000 but I would rather not if there is a great alternative on the horizon. I am not a professional, obviously.:?

DonnaK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 4, 2008, 9:28 AM   #2
Administrator

For basketball, you'd probably need to shoot at ISO 3200 if you want to use an f/2.8 zoom, unless you're talking pro or college games, where you may have better lighting compared to typical high school gyms.

You may be better off buying a Sony/Zeiss 85mm f/1.4 for that purpose, so you can shoot at ISO 1600 instead, or if you're on a tighter budget, look for a used Minolta instead. You'll want to shoot from the floor versus the stands with this approach.

If you want a 70-200 f/2.8 lens, you're going to have 2 newer choices soon Sigma will have their newest 70-200mm f/2.8 EX DG HSM Macro II available in Minolta/Sony mount, and Tamron will have their new 70-200mm f/2.8 available in Minolta/Sony mount. The Sigma will have the benefit of HSM (Hypersonic Motor Focusing). But, we'll have to wait on user reports to find out how these two new lenses perform (as they're not shipping yet).

Adorama.com is taking preorders for both of them now ($799 for the Sigma, $699 for the Tamron).

You've also got the Sony 70-200mm f/2.8 SSM lens available new at a much heftier price tag, and it's an outstanding lens, judging from reports and images I've seen.

But, for basketball, a brighter prime is usually a better bet for high school type gyms.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2008, 9:37 AM   #3
Administrator