Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old May 21, 2008, 7:13 AM   #1

I recently bought a copy of Gary L. Friedmans book, "A Complete Guide to SONY'S A700". The cost was over $100 dollars for the best copy. Withiin a short time the pages started to fall out. When I advised Mr. Friedman he gave me a link to a publisher and stated that they would replace the book and also provide for a return? When I contacted the publisher none of this happened. They demanded photographic evidence that the book was falling apart. I then contacted Mr. Friedman and now he wants sales information, dates and the like? ...I made the purchase on line from his site????I am a retired teacher, disabled and 77 years old. In my life time I have purhased thousands of books. "A Complete Guide to SONY'S A700" is a good book that turns into trash. Save your money!
normc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 21, 2008, 7:20 AM   #2
Administrator

Well, Gary's books are well liked for content.

But, I've heard your complaint before about the quality of the printed books. For that much money, you would think the quality would be better.

I've thought about getting one for myself. The print is just too small in the Sony manual, and I have yet to read mine. :-)

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2008, 7:21 AM   #3
Administrator

P.S.

How do you like your A700? I got one in October and I've been very impressed with it.

Old May 21, 2008, 10:11 AM   #4

It is an excellent camera. I had the A100 and would have kept that as well but for the viewfinder. I do wish the documentation was a little better. It is why I put up my $100 bucks for the book.
Old May 21, 2008, 10:24 AM   #5
Administrator

I don't disagree with the quality of the Sony manual. They're not the only ones with bad manuals though. That seems to be a trend lately.